Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Help picking a cheap lens

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello, I have a pentax kx and I was wondering what's an affordable fisheye lens. One that could take shots like this http://www.nikonweb.com/fisheye/fisheye_flower.jpg (sorry for the noob talk, I'm new to photography.)

Also, what about a wide angle or macro lens? Suggestions? Thanks a ton.

11-13-2011, 06:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
if you're after macro lenses and are after something super cheap read this: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/152336-cheap-macro-b...lose-work.html

No idea about the fisheye - haven't gotten to those yet
11-13-2011, 06:16 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
If you want good...a used 10-17, a used 12-24, and a used Tamron 90.

Cheap? No idea.
11-13-2011, 06:21 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
True fish eye lens are perhaps more expensive than you want. The picture in your example was not taken with a fish eye lens but rather a fish converter or 'filter'. If that is what you want just search ebay for fish eye lens and you will get about 7,000 hits. These just screw onto the front of your existing lens.

A real fisheye like this one is a little more expensive. There are also manual lenses by peleng such as the 3.5 f/8 which goes for maybe $375.00

11-13-2011, 06:45 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
(edited to remove incorrect lens ID)

Take a look at the shots in this thread and see what folks are using.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-clubs/33549-fisheye-fever-club-flaun...ye-photos.html