Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Lens Advice for a Beginner

For Christmas this year I've decided to invest in a Pentax K-r. I'll probably just end up buying the body with the kit lens but I do want a couple of other lenses. A wide-angle lens for shooting landscapes and seascapes, obviously I want a quality lens but I also want it to be as cheap as possible. I also want a decent zoom lens for nature/sports photography, cheap but good quality is what I'm after. Any suggestions as to what lens I should get would be greatly appreciated. I am a complete beginner in the world of d-SLR's, so any advice no matter how obvious it might be will be beneficial. Cheers 'en.

11-14-2011, 05:13 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
When you consider thenscale of landscapes having wider than the kit lens is not a necessity. Going ultra wide makes many far off things seem insignificant. I use ultra wide for architecture and interior shots. In would suggest play with the kit lens first on landscapes
11-14-2011, 05:21 AM   #3
Inactive Account

It seems that for what you want the kit lens duo (18-55 and 55-300) would be a great place to start. It gives a range for landscapes and zoom you might want for sports. It's cheap and by getting a big focal range you'll see what kind of range you'll like more to give you an idea on what lens to buy next. Another great place to look is the lens database. Great reviews and pictures from actual owners of the lens your interested in. Just be aware you'll soon might be spending more in lens that you expected if you hang around there too much.