Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2011, 06:25 AM   #1

nikon?

Ok so my daughter wants to get into digital slr but wants a Nikon , i have a k10 just wanted to know what is close to this in the Nikon line have seen a few used local a d80 and a few d70s . What should i pay for these .

Thanks
John

11-17-2011, 06:30 AM - 1 Like   #2
Inactive Account

I'm a beginner in dslr's mate and I was looking at either the D3000 or D3100 as they have a guide mode which is supposedly quite useful for novices. Why not talk her into getting a k-r or a k-x? You could then share lenses which makes more sense financially.
11-17-2011, 06:57 AM   #3

Original Poster
nikon

Hey we are dealing with a very independant teenager here i failed to say that and she has done her research , i thought the same thing as well sharing lenses and such and she will most likely get better at the whole picture thing and teach me a trick or two, just wondering if the Nikon has anti shake and the whole dust removal system offered by Pentax.

regards
John
11-17-2011, 07:05 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have a friend who bought a used Nikon D90 for his daughter. She really likes it. I have not used it myself. He said he looked at the Nikon 3100 or 5100 as good beginners cameras. But wanted something more professional...

I would not care to talk her into a Pentax. Assuming that she is probably young, her friends probably have a Nikon. She probably wants the same. Nothing wrong with that.

11-17-2011, 07:38 AM   #5
Veteran Member

@mrpromod

Nikon's got no anti-shake in the body, nor does it have screw drive AF below the D7000. You can buy her a used D90 (2ndhand, got screwdrive AF), or D5100 (bnew, no screwdrive AF), although they're not equivalents to K10D in performance (some more advanced, some no, but you can't get a weathersealed Nikon at entry-level price).
11-17-2011, 07:46 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums