Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2011, 10:13 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Long exposure night photography

Hi guys, I just got my first camera yesterday the White K-r with 18-55, 55-300 kit lens. I'm really new to the photography scene and I'm kinda interested in night time long exposure shots like this one
. Any tips? what extra gear do I need? I know I would be needing a tripod and some other stuff, please enlighten me (: thanks!

11-20-2011, 10:45 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All you really need is a tripod and a lot of patience to get the exposure exactly as you want it- I'd go out there are try experimenting a bit (the 18-55 will probably be more useful than the 55-300 for shots like these).

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-20-2011, 10:54 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks! It'll be awesome if you can make a semi tutorial/full tutorial for this (: it would be much appreciated.
11-20-2011, 11:08 AM   #4
Veteran Member

If you are doing long exposures at night and on or near large bodies of water ensure you get a/the correct tripod - in short, make sure that the tripod has a somewhat good design that provides some vibration dampening.

In short, the very basic starting point is this:

1. Stop down your aperture all the way
2. Ensure you use the "2sec timer" also known as the "Beginners Mirror Up Function"
3. Shoot the scene