Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2011, 10:33 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Auto White Balance

I am new to Pentax SLR's, having had Nikons up until now. I am finding that the Auto White Balance doesn't seem to work that well under artificial lights, giving a yellow colour caste to most shots. Is this typical of Pentax cameras or is there something I can do to prevent this? I have a K5 and figured it would work as well as my Nikon D7000 in this dept. I love the K5 for everything else. It's way more fun than the "serious" Nikon.

Attached Images

11-20-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
if its yellow to you, just dial in a little bit of yellow compensation under the WB settings
11-20-2011, 11:27 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks but how do I do that? Is it by moving the axis away from the yellow/green quadrants in the adjustment window? If so I'll assume it is trial and error each time you are shooting under artificial light. Is this what you do or should I not be using the AW setting and always set the WB to the type of lighting present? Appreciate your help. Thanks again.
11-21-2011, 12:35 AM   #4
Veteran Member

you do it by moving it towards the opposite end. by using the axis, you are applying your own color shift to cancel out existing color shift

as for when i shoot, i typically shoot in RAW and set the WB afterwards in post. I find auto white balance adequate for most situations when shooting in jpeg. If you want more control in your white balance, go to manual white balance (the one before the last one), point the camera at something neutrally colored, and take a picture of it. Select the area in the image that is neutrally colored, press OK and you're set

11-21-2011, 05:21 AM   #5
Veteran Member

The white in the baby's hat looks white. It does look a bit oversaturated though. BTW I'm using a calibrated monitor.
11-21-2011, 10:15 AM   #6
Veteran Member