Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2011, 08:49 AM   #1

Pentax k100 Asahi 50mm lens

Hi everyone. I am completely new to photography. Other than the spoon fed digital cameras. I recently purchased through ebay 2 each k1000 Asahi 50 mm cameras with various lenses and filters. What I do not have for either camera is a uv filter or polarizing filter. I would like to get 2 sets. I am confused on what to look for to purchase that will fit these cameras.

I have a set of filters that came with my camera and on the lens they say 49 mm. Odd because the lens on the camera says 50 mm.

The ones I have all 49 mm are:

1. center lens
2. diffuser
3. split

Was wondering if you could fill me in on the applicatons these are meant to be used for as well.

Any guidance on the lenses i have and help in locating the correct lenses i wish to purchase will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

11-24-2011, 08:57 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Regarding 49mm vs. 50mm i suspect that you are looking at filter diameter (49mm) vs, focal length (50mm). May I suggest that you post what is written on the front of the lenses - which would typically be someting like:

"SMC Pentax-M f/2.0 50mm" or similar.

Do that for all of your various lenses that you got, and we might guide you a bit further. (You might also want to take a look yourself at the lens database and -review sections in this forum).
11-24-2011, 09:04 AM   #3

Original Poster
The lens in the camera is smc-pentax-m 1:2 50 mm 4759859

Is that what you need to know?
11-24-2011, 10:03 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter