Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-28-2011, 08:44 AM   #1

Very new to photography in general - Trying to get vibrant photos

Hi guys. I'm new to photography and I have a Pentax K-X. I've been trying to figure everything out on my own and so far I'm getting nice photos, but they aren't vibrant. I want to avoid post-processing as much as possible as my aim is just to shoot and upload to Flickr. I know how to post-process to get the vibrancy, but I'd rather the vibrancy come from the settings on the camera.

This is the kind of thing I am aiming for... see the photo with the kids and umbrella

Please can you advise me on this... Thanks

Last edited by Raindrops; 11-28-2011 at 09:05 AM.
11-28-2011, 09:10 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you are just shooting jpegs then you can adjust how the jpeg engine cooks the raw files in camera. Hit the 'Info' button, look at the top left icon it has a hexagon looking kinda thing on it. Go in there and you can adjust saturation, hue, high/low key, contrast, and sharpness. The Pentax jpeg engine is set to produce a little more natural looking photo than some other brands expecially Canon so it can look a little underwelming if you are used to photos with more punch. So just adjust until you like what you see. This is also located under Menu>Custom Image

Note that these settings do not affect a RAW file only the jpeg produced by the camera.
11-28-2011, 10:13 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The kid on the right might be an alien.

The examples all show a rainbow of solid colors, which is kind of like showing clothes on a fashion model vs. clothes on real people. It sure helps the results to start with that subject matter. But you can help out your real-world subjects too.