Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-03-2011, 02:20 AM   #1

K5 - too much noise?

I'm new to pentax and was taking some shots last weekend and I've noticed a fair bit of noise in some shots.

One of the reasons why I bought the camera was because I thought it had very good noise levels.

I'll put a link to a raw file. Can anyone have a look and tell me what they think? I'm also used to using capture one as my raw editor and only have adobe camera raw at the moment, so that might have an impact.

http://www.bderooy.com/IMGP0266.DNG

Last edited by rreader; 12-03-2011 at 03:25 AM.
12-03-2011, 03:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Link doesn't work for me
12-03-2011, 03:26 AM   #3

Original Poster
Sorry I had the wrong filename in the link.

It's updated now.
12-03-2011, 03:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
i opened it in photoshop cs5 and i don't see any issues with noise. in fact, the image is pretty much clean unless you go in at beyond 100% and look at the shadow detail area. can you describe the settings you have in capture one or provide a jpeg of what you're seeing?

12-03-2011, 03:44 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rreader Quote
Sorry I had the wrong filename in the link.

It's updated now.
Great! that worked.
As for the image, I'd say everything looks good in terms of noise performance, however I think the underexposure is causing the overall eV to get pushed in development.

If I were you, I'd try again with a balanced exposure and how things look from there.
12-03-2011, 04:00 AM   #6

Original Poster
Thanks JohnBee. I actually hadn't noticed the under exposure.

I'll have a look through to see if I have any that aren't underexposed and have more noise than I expected.

I'm not sure that the camera is metering properly. I have a 50mm M lens and using the green button the shutter speed doesn't change much as I stop down.