Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2011, 03:57 PM   #1

Vivitar 135mm 2.8 with on K5 with no DOF or Green Button

Hi all,

I have been using Pentax since 1986 when my grandfather bought me a used ME Super and some lenses. One of the lenses is a great manual focus Vivitar 135mm 2.8 K-mount.

On my older K10 the DOF and the Green Button will work fine with the Vivitar 135 stepping down the aperture just fine.

On my new K5 nether the DOF or Green Button will step down the aperture on the 135. I have set “Using Aperture Ring” to “Permitted” and have two other manual K mount lenses that work fine with the DOF and Green Button on the K5.

I really like shooting with the old 135mm lens, but I like steeping it down when needed. Has anyone else had a similar issue with the K5 and older lenses, perhaps I missed a setting? Anyone have any ideas on how to tell if this is an issue with the camera or the lens? Am I just stuck shooting wide open?

Thanks for your time.

12-04-2011, 04:30 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Check the lens on another body, it could have developed a fault.
12-04-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Dumb question: does the aperture actually work? i.e. with the lens off the camera and stopped down, you should see the blades be closed and you can open them with the spring-loaded aperture control on the mount (and they instantly close again when releasing). If all is well with the lens, it should work unless it is not mounting correctly. Is it one of those Vivitars with the too-big flange next to the aperture control? (Are you in M mode? You should be in M mode.)
12-04-2011, 05:44 PM   #4

Original Poster
Dark_Mist, I did check this lens on my K10 and it works fine on that body.

vonBaloney, The blades do close when I manipulate the aperture control directly on the lens. I am in M mode. The too-big flange next to the aperture control sounds like something to check. Do you know how to tell?