Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2011, 04:41 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Studio photography on the budget

I'm not a beginner to photography but I want to learn to do studio photography. Since money is an issue for me and I probably would spend like $200. What items I should have for studio lightning? I was thinking of having an umbrella but not sure which is better - shoot through or reflective ones. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

12-08-2011, 05:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Get a shoot through umbrella, a lighting stand, a Yongnuo YN560 flash unit and some cactus triggers, though you might be able to manage just using the optical slave in the YN560 if you're careful. If that all comes to less than $100, get two of each.

I bought a reflective and a shoot through for portraiture and studio work but I find the reflective is a bit overpowering and harsh, plus you have to reverse it, with the shoot through you can get it right up to the subject (as long as it's out of frame) so you don't lose nearly as much light.

I can't recommend the YN560 enough, I used it a lot before I got my AF540FGZ and it taught me a lot about flash lighting, it's completely manual but incredible value considering it's power, recycle times, optical slave, rotating head, built in wide angle adaptor and bounce card and the super easy interface.
12-08-2011, 07:57 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I have good experience using two AF500FTZ units. They are also powerful enough, they come by cheap these days and the optical slave capability is already built in. I agree with the stands and unbrellas.
12-08-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter