Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2011, 09:44 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Editing PEF RAW files on a Mac

I'm new to Pentax and now have a K5. I would like to shoot in Pentax RAW but when I attempt to open PEF RAW files in either Silkypix Developer Studio or Pentax Camera Utility 4. the file will not open, greyed out and not even recognized. Is it because I have the Mac versions do you think? Hope one of you RAW shooters can help me out. Cheers - Ken

12-10-2011, 10:01 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't use macs, so I can't help you specifically, but have you tried shooting DNG instead of PEF? There is no advantage I'm aware of to using PEF, and DNG isn't proprietary, it's an open standard, so more software supports it, generally.
12-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #3

Original Poster
I've tried both RAW formats and neither appear to be really editable in the software that came with my K5. I have been used to Nikon RAW and those files are truly RAW in that when loaded into the NX2 software that comes with Nikon cameras. You can adjust and change all parameters of the file. White Balance, Colour Mode etc.
I'll keep trying and thanks for your response. It may well be that the software prefers a pc to a Mac.
How much are you able to manipulate RAW files using the Pentax software?
12-10-2011, 11:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Do you have the most recent versions of the software? Check the Pentax support site to make sure. I use Photoshop without issue so I can't help you with the actual software, but if neither one will open a DNG file then I think you need to ugdate the software.

12-10-2011, 11:09 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax Camera Utility 4 worked fine for me on my PBG4 OS X 10.4.11 the last time I tried it. I don't know why it wouldn't work on your Mac.
12-11-2011, 12:03 AM   #6

Original Poster