Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2011, 11:19 AM   #1
Inactive Account

tamron 18 AF 18-200mm F/3,5-6,3 XR Di II LD aspherical IF + Pentax KR for beginer

hello All

I'm a real beginner and planning to buy that lens for my trip in Vietnam in next month. I currently have a kit lens DAL 18-55 and wish to have 1 more lens covering the range 17-200 just in case I need a zoom and don't want to often change lens. Will use it to take lanscape, monuments, family portraits and proxy pics etc....

1/ do you think that it is good value lens for a beginer?
2/ can anyone show me some image sample taken with this coule Tamron 18-200 and pentax Kr?

12-12-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The 18-200 is a good superzoom lens, but the 18-250 is even better (Tamron or Pentax version, either one). At 18, it should be better than your DAL 18-55 for landscapes, it can take portraits in the 50-90mm range (which your 18-55 can't reach), and you can shoot quite a distance away (wildlife).

I did not see a thread for the Tamron 18-200, but here is one for the Sigma (they both should be quite similar)
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-sample-photo-archive/153333-sigma-18...3-5-6-3-a.html

And here is one for the 18-250
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-sample-photo-archive/165303-tamron-18-250mm.html

Again, the 18-250 is better than the 18-200 in sharpness and reach, so if you can, that's the better bet.
12-12-2011, 11:42 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian