Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-20-2011, 05:00 AM   #1

need help with taking sharp foreground and background photos

Hi everyone. I'd bought my Pentax KR early this year and managed to find time during holidays and day-offs to play around with the camera. It's my first DSLR camera.

I understand most aspects of DSLR photography, like ISO, shutter speed, aperture, EV compensation etc. but I'm still a newbie and would like some help with one particular problem I've been trying to solve.

In my previous point-and-shoot cameras, you could take a picture of someone in front of a background and it will turn out sharp (foreground and background), because from what I've read is that normal point-and-shoot cameras don't have DOF ability.

Believe it or not, I've been trying to replicate this sharp all around picture recently and have failed.

My scenario: inside a shopping centre, my wife is standing in front of a huge Xmas tree. I'm trying to get both my wife and the tree into sharp focus, but everything I've tried to do, the tree is slightly blurred. I understand that this is a shallow DOF effect. I've switched the camera from [P] to aperture priority, then put aperture at F8. I take a quick photo and the background is sharp at last, but the whole picture is now very dark. I've tried upping the ISO, then EV, but it is still rather dark, and not at all natural or balanced. I've also tried turning up the aperture to F6.3 or F7.1, but the results not very satisfactory.

I'm not using a tripod or big flash. The pop-up flash only illuminates my wife's face. If I don't use the pop-up flash, it is even darker.

Can anyone help me with this problem? My wife is not particularly thrilled that this more expensive camera can't take sharper pictures than our old point and shooter.

12-20-2011, 05:26 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums