Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2012, 09:39 AM   #1

Help reducing blur for a newbie?

Hi
I am new to DSLRs having used compacts for years.
My last SLR was a 35mm some 20-odd years ago!

I seem to be having problems with the subject not being in focus correctly - I am using auto focus and I do get the little red square indicating focus in the right area, but sometimes (30%?) the image is not super sharp.
I think this is more focus that camera shake.

However I have anothe problem with using the built in flash ( I am using a K-r) in that the camera still seems to use a long exposure so even with a flash, if the subject is moving, even a little, I get some quite pronouced motion blur.

I tend to use the auto settings so I guess I am going to need to do something else, so any advice appreciated!

many thanks!

01-02-2012, 09:50 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Lots of factors here, although using the flash should minimize any out of focus photos. Perhaps a review of your manual and the various scene modes (if you are using them) will be helpful. I would also suggest a good book on exposure and all the parts that go into that subject, such as "Understanding Exposure" by Brian Peterson, or another such book. Are any parts of your photo in perfect focus? If so, then perhaps your depth of field is too shallow owing to a large aperture (the size of the opening in the lens). Slow shutter speeds also contribute to blurry pictures, although if your flash overcomes ambient light, those pictures should not suffer.
01-02-2012, 10:15 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The AF red square shows WHERE the camera is trying to focus, not THAT focus has been achieved. The green hex is the focus confirmation signal.