Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2012, 09:53 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Tripod and Arboretum

I'm going to the Dallas Arboretum tomorrow and will be using a tripod for the first time on some shots. Any tips/suggestions I should take in consideration when using a tripod? I've never used one before.

01-07-2012, 10:04 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Make sure the camera is well attached, every time. Give it a little shake before you let go to be sure.
Be aware of other people around you, make sure nobody trips over your equipment. Remember, they are looking around not where they are walking.
Be advised that tripods are sometimes prohibited in public places, supposedly for safety reasons. Not sure I would ask, but be aware it might be an issue.
Use mirror lock up, or 2 second delay or remote if you can. Pressing the shutter button causes vibrations even on a tripod.
Turn off shake reduction, (if you use the remote or 2 second delay it is automatically turned off.)
Never walk away from the tripod if other people are around, too easy for somebody to bump it and knock everything to the ground.
Take a sling strap or bag to help carry it if you have one. Sling strap is easy to make if you have some webbing.
01-07-2012, 10:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
My bag has a sling strap on it so that's already covered. I'm assuming shake reduction is in one of the menus? I'll look around for it, and same with the 2 second delay. I don't know what mirror lock up is, care to elaborate?
01-08-2012, 02:39 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

The 2 second delay, is just that, Its a 2 second delay that starts after the shutter is enabled, so the mirror comes up, 2 second wait until the shutter curtain is pulled back for the exposure. So the mirror up is included in the delay. It in your manual...... on page 145.