Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2012, 09:09 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Linear Filter Question

Hi all,

I'm an oil painter and starting to take pictures of my paintings. I have a Pentax k2000 camera with the SMC Pentax-DAL 1:3.5 - 5.6 18-55 mm AL lens (52mm). Does anybody have a recommendation for a linear polarizer that they like? When taking pictures of oil paintings, there some small speckles where the light hits the paintings. I would like to remove this.

Dougie

01-15-2012, 10:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you plan to use autofocus and autoexposure, a linear polarizer will mess them both, since, depending on the angle, it will limit the light that reaches the AF and AE systems. A circular polarizer will not create this problem. If on the other hand, you focus and expose manually, a linear one is fine and a bit cheaper.

Lenstip did a review of polarizer filters. It's a bit old but it is a good starting point. Here is the link Polarizing filters test - Introduction - Lenstip.com
01-15-2012, 11:31 AM   #3
Forum Member

Could be wrong, but I've messed with linear polarizers and point and shoots. It's a bit awkward without filter threads, but other than that, I haven't had problems. I can't come up with a good reason why hitting the live view won't solve focus and exposure problems.
As a curiosity question for those with more experience, is a polarizer really the best solution? This sounds a little like it could be a light diffuser problem.
01-15-2012, 11:43 AM   #4
dms
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The method used is to have a linear polarizer on the lens and linear polarizer sheets (e.g., from edmonds scientific) in front of lights. (Well anyway I use linear ones--they must have same orientation). You turn the len's polarizer till the degree of reflections desired is obtained (all to essentially none)--it also makes colors more saturated.