Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #1

How do you tweak yours?

I am not new to photography but I am new to the world of DSLRs and especially to shooting in RAW. This business of RAW has given me problems and this leads me to the point of this thread, what do you use to view, edit and tweak your RAW images?

The setup i have at the moment is viewing them with Windows Live Photo Gallery (with the appropriate add on and Pentax PEF codec) to view them and to edit them i use the free, open source software GIMP with the UFRaw add on. I find the bundled software with my K-r clunky and badly designed and just can't seem to get on with it at all - even to view images. That said my current set up, while functional, isn't exactly great.

I don't want to shoot in JPEG as one of the benefits of a DSLR is the ability to shoot in RAW. Any suggestions which can help improve my RAW experience (preferably for very few $$$ or free) is much appreciated.

I know there is a Digital Processing section but I thought since this may well be an issue effecting many beginners that this was a slightly more appropriate section choice. Hopefully people agree :S

Thanks

01-17-2012, 05:31 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The bundled Pentax software may look clunky, but it's rather powerful. I generally use it when I don't have much color correction to do, as it lets me crop, rotate, sharpen, adjust light levels, and reduce noise without too much effort.

Lightroom 3, however, will do everything the bundled software can do but better and with more features, while actually being more user friendly. So that can be an option.

Full out Photoshop (CS5 for me) is for some serious editing.

So for not too much money, I would honestly suggest Lightroom 3.
01-17-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Pentaxian

You have other choice also
ACDsee Pro
PhotoDirector
Photo Element