Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2012, 09:24 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What are your concerns? What's on your mind right now?

01-19-2012, 09:33 AM   #17
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Well if I was to go for a cheap k-x I could buy a few cheaper, older primes but I'm not sure it would last me long. I've struck the K-r off my list now. The k20d/K7 would probably last me a while as they are aimed at the enthusiastic photographer (I'm a beginner but I love to learn so these two really appeal). So I'm stuck between buying a K-x and a range of lenses and look to upgrade in a few months or go for the K7/K20d and collect lenses over time. The K7 route does seem a bit more sensible as I'll learn what lenses I'll want over time. If you were in my position what would you go for?
01-19-2012, 09:59 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you think that the phrase "small is beautiful" is something to be taken seriously, than K20D is not for you
01-19-2012, 10:05 AM   #19
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Hahah I am a fairly big chap, I shouldn't have any worries handling a larger camera

01-19-2012, 11:00 AM   #20
Veteran Member

If your aim is to get cheap old manual primes, I would go get the K20d/K7 because they have a much better viewfinder (That I personally think you'll be needing if you're gonna be shooting manual focus, unless you wanna use liveview)

Also it depends what you want to shoot and where you wanna shoot? I personally think that you'll only be needing Kx's ISO capabilities if you're planning to shoot moving targets on an area where there is crappy light. (like no to little light at all.) But if you're gonna be shooting static targets with a tripod or monopod then the K20/K7 will satisfy your photography.

If not then K20/k7

K7's advantages over the k20d

*Faster FPS
K7: High 5.2 vs K20d 3
K7: Low: 3.3 vs K20d 2.3