Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2007, 07:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

K100D Super - Beginner Tips?

Hi, everyone!

Would love to hear tips from more experienced users on how to setup and use the K100D Super I just got as my entry into the DSLR world. I have some experience with prosumer cameras like the Lumix FZ50, but am totally new to Pentax and the DSLR world.

Please share your tips on exposure, processing, lenses and anything else that comes to mind. If anyone has calibrated their Adobe Camera Raw, Noise Ninja or Neat Image for this camera, I would love to get some profiles or calibration settings

Thanks a lot in advance!

Andriy (aka Dubesor)
Flickr: dubesor

12-29-2007, 07:43 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to Pentax Forums Andriy.

I was supposed to be in your city at the moment, but bad roads and a few other factors forced me to put the trip off for a while

Like everyone else new to the SLR world I'd advise you to just have fun with it for a while.
See if the pictures are what you want. They just might be.

When your comfortable with it feel free to try AV or some other mode, and go from there.

You probably won't have to do much tweaking with any software, so I wouldn't worry about that either.

So just have fun, and let the learning process begin.
12-29-2007, 08:08 PM   #3

Just take lots of pictures, that's the main thing. As long as you stick to manual and semi-manual modes, you'll learn quite a bit in your first thousand clicks
12-30-2007, 02:56 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks! My experiments with the FZ50 taught me a bit about using aperture / shutter priority modes. Those are basically my main modes of operation for the Pentax as well.