Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2012, 01:59 AM   #1
Inactive Account

finally,a pentaxian!

Well after months of researching many different dslrs,I choose Pentax.It felt good to be part of a "niche" market.Sure I thought the touch screen technology of other cameras was cool and so was live view and tilting the screen and.....But I purchased a K100d and I'm so happy.For me it was all about the beautiful Pentax lenses.Sure I took the advice to stick with the 18-55mm kit lens while learning and since I'm a rank beginner,I've enjoyed it.
But after 6 months I couldn't help myself and ventured into another lens.I choose the 35mm and at $160,it has been a joy.
Finally I decided to extend the focal length and bought a Tamron 28-105 lens.Man I thought I was getting more and more adventurous and was grasping more photographic technique. But when I tried to use the shutter speed or use the scene modes the camera wouldn't respond.I've only been able to use the exposure compensation dial to change the aperture.What am I doing wrong?I need to find out because now I really want to get another lens of a bit higher order(and price),the Tamron 28-75mm.
To conclude,I am so glad I have a Pentax....and hope I live long enough to get good enough to know how to use Pentax primes.Most sincerely,Gretchen

01-22-2012, 03:18 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome- great to hear you like the brand! Wait till you try one of the new cameras- you'll fall in love!

Make sure you set the aperture ring on the lens to the "A" position. Otherwise, the camera won't know what the aperture and you won't be able to use P/scene modes is. Then, you can use the dial on the back of the camera to electronically control the aperture.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)