Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Newbie looking for lens advice.

Hello everyone and thank you for taking the time to look at my thread and hopefully give me some much needed advice.
I am pretty new to photography and after a few months borrowing a canon 1000D I decided to invest in my own and i'm now in the process of receiving my K5! (so exciting)

I really want to get a prime lens as one of my first to learn with because from what i've seen they have the ability produce some wonderful images but being quite a poor student I can't afford to buy something like one of those legendary Pentax primes so I was thinking maybe a second hand 50mm or 35mm. I really don't mind that it will probably be manual focus, I don't even mind if it's a M42 thread and I have to buy an adapter but I really can't spend much at the moment as I am a poor student but hopefully later on I will be able to treat myself with something nicer.

Price: probably anything from $0 (hehe) - 200 maximum.

Thanks,
Damon.

01-25-2012, 09:37 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Damon, I would recommend a nice 50mm SMC "A" lens in K mount. You can probably get one for less than $50 and they are usually available in an f1.7 or even f1.4 at a very cheap price. These were considered the "normal" kit lens when buying the K1000 or similar pentax film cameras, so there are a lot of them out there. I picked up mine for about $20.