Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-30-2012, 12:00 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Additions to the kit: New lens or a tripod

Hi,
A few context setters in no particular order:
  • I am new to photography, Recently bought a k5 and 18-55 WR (also bought two bags, one rocket blower, one hood cap, one 16GB Sandisk Extreme card)
  • Have about $300 (stretchable till $500) photography budget
  • Very keen to learn, ready to invest time, effort. Likely will be a photography hobbyist for long. So ready to wait to build on the gear collection. Been reading a lot of books.
  • In California currently
  • Cannot really answer what I like to shoot most, experimenting with everything. Will be taking a lot of pics indoors of Mrs and Baby.
  • Travel a lot.
  • Want to buy NEW for the moment, Will be OK with used after a while.
  • Fairly good with gadgets, love to meddle, play and learn.

I have been eyeing the additions below, but want to buy only one at the moment given the budget:
  • Pentax DA 55-300
  • Manfrotto 055xPROB + 498 RC2 + Pentax F remote
  • DA 40 Ltd

01-30-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Stretch it to $500... Buy a tripod and a DA35mm 2.4 and if you can either a Pentax-A50-1.7 or pentax-F50-1.7...
01-30-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A tripod and remote can get you some very lovely landscape/night/sky shots that you normally can't pull off.
-Reasons to get: into landscapes, object photography, low-light photography, self photography (remote + tripod > timer + tripod), something to beat up wolves with

The DA55-300 will give you pretty amazing range that your kit lens cannot.
-Reasons to get: want a lens that'll do portraits, let's you zoom in to animals and birds outside, and let's you take pictures of your kid in sports games (well, as a baby, maybe not so much)

DA 40 ltd will be a lovely portrait/walkaround prime