Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2012, 08:38 PM   #1

New to photography, looking for a new lense :)

Hi! I'm pretty new to photography and i have a Pentax K-x that i LOVE!! its pink Ive done some senior pics, a couple weddings (as a second photographer), and lots of family pics (many of my own children and now people are calling left and right to take their pics!! Sooo... i have a good eye and all, but now i'm trying to learn the ins and outs techinally!! where do i go next with... a new lense possibly? And any suggestions for editing software? the lenses i have are the ones it came with... the 18-55mm and 50-200mm i believe ... true newbie ANY info would be GREAT!! Thank you!!!

01-31-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How much are you planning on spending? I think my first addition was an FA 50 F 1.8 but looking back, a 35 macro 2.8 or 21 ltd could have been good also. A good idea might be to go through a lot of your pictures and look at the exif info to see what focal length you use most. For software I'm on a mac so I don't know as much about PC software, but elements or Lightroom come to mind as common suggestions, not that I've used either of them. On a MAc just get Aperture and pixelmator. Or possibly Graphic-converter. The film photographers who have colour darkroom experience seem to do well with Graphic-converter. give yourself 20 hours to learn to find your way around in whatever software you buy. Photo software is never really intuitive. You have to know what the concepts are.
01-31-2012, 09:38 PM   #3

Original Poster