Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2012, 11:22 AM   #1

Question re: Tamron-F 1.4x Pz-AF MC4 Teleconverter

Greetings Pentaxions!

I recently came into possession of two Tamron Teleconverters (longish story), and as I have no experience in in film photography, I turned to the internet and a photographer friend to find out what they are, which in turn lead me here.

These two pieces appear unused, come in their own little naugahyde bags and are very nearly identical, with one exception: the number of little bumps on the inside (forgive my lack of proper terminology - i am sure they are some sort of autoflash electronic connection or something). One is identical to the ones posted in ads like this:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/sold-items/146342-sale-sold-tamron-1-4x-p...er-pentax.html

But the other has an extra bump (photo attached).

So I was wondering, what, if any, is the difference between these two units? Whats with the extra bump?
Is the second one also a unit that would work with a Pentax camera? Is $225 (as in the ad above) a fair price for these things?

I intend to sign up and sell these on your marketplace - but I would hate to waste everyone's time because I don't have the pertinent knowledge. So I figured hey, why not just ask? Why not indeed.

I deeply appreciate any elucidation that you, the greater Pentax community, can shed on this.

Cheers, and thanks in advance.

eSc

02-03-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The Tamron 1.4 teleconverter is a VERY sought after item. This is one of the most popular teleconverters out there. Are you sure you want to sell both of them. You may be wise to hold on to one of them for your own use.
02-03-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
eSc

Original Poster
Bramela,

Thanks for the heads up, but I do not even own a film camera.