Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2006, 05:15 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K10D flash questions from DSLR newbie

Hi,

The K10D is my first DSLR, although I've been using Pentax cameras for over 20 years. I now find myself with a few questions about flash operation with the K10D. I've also asked these over at DP Review, but thought I'd try here also...

1. I have mainly been taking flash photos indoors waiting for the fog to lift in the UK (it has been hanging around almost constantly since I bought the camera last week ). While the camera displays any flash exposure compensation, this does not seem to be something that is shown once downloaded into the Photo Browser s/w. I've tried a couple of other progs. also & none appear to show this either. Before I delete the images from the SD card, does anyone know how I can access this info. once downloaded, as I presume it must be somewhere in the EXIF data...?

2. Along a similar line, when setting flash exposure compensation on my AF-540FGZ flashgun, this information does not appear to be transferred to the camera (i.e. if I set +1.0EV comp. on the flashgun, the recorded image info. says 0.0EV flash comp., although the photos appear to have the compensation applied correctly, as far as I can see). Should I, therefore, just set any flash compensation via the camera's Fn menu instead?

Anyone else come across these 'problems'?

Cheers,
AJ

12-24-2006, 07:25 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Interesting question. This is not direct answer (just my thoughts) but it may help: