Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2012, 02:04 PM   #1

Pentax Lenses?

Hello everyone, as you all know I'm still a newbie to the SLR world..lol..I have a Pentax K-x I have the 18-50mm lens on it the one that came with it, what I'm wanting to know is what's the next step up for a lens, I want to upgrade my lens next week and was wondering which one to get, I'm not looking to spend a big amount thinking around $300 but I'm clueless when it comes to lenses still..so any help will be appreciated.

02-05-2012, 02:14 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The most natural option is to extend your kit with this lens:
Pentax-DA 55-300mm Review - Introduction - PentaxForums.com ($349 new, DA version, ~$200ish used, DA L version. optically, they are the same.)

If you want a flat-out better walkaround lens, then I would recommend the Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 ($414, but well worth it).

Read our review here: DA* 16-50mm vs. Sigma and Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 Comparison - Introduction - PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
02-05-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
You may spend $100 on an used M50/1.4 and see if you can stand manual focus. There are many affordable good old primes worth trying.

M 50/1.4
02-05-2012, 02:46 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery