Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2012, 01:44 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K100D lens compatibility question

I have a pentax k100d with the 18-55mm lens. In my search for lenses which can help me "bring the moon closer", I have found several of them. For example: Vivitar MC 80-200mm f/4.5 pentax K mount, Vivitar MC 80-200/4,5 manual focus pentax PK mount, COSINA MC 80-200mm f4,5-5,6 MACRO pentax PK mount etc. Well, the seller only says theat the lens is P mount, PK mount, etc. The question is: do this lenses fit on my k100d? I'm a newbie...

02-08-2012, 01:56 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Any K-Mount lens will work with the K100D.

Pentax K mount - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Be careful of 'KR', 'R-K', or 'PK-AR' lenses. They may have the dread "Ricoh Pin" that can get stuck in the AF screw-drive.

BTW, if you want to get good moon shots you are going to need more than 200mm.
02-08-2012, 02:07 PM   #3
cif
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks boriscleto for clarification. I guess i'll stay away from any 'R' type lenses
One more question. it may sound stupid, but... a 18-200mm lens covers the 18-55mm lens and the 50-200mm lens? as 2 lenses in 1 lens?
02-08-2012, 02:18 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by cif Quote
Thanks boriscleto for clarification. I guess i'll stay away from any 'R' type lenses
One more question. it may sound stupid, but... a 18-200mm lens covers the 18-55mm lens and the 50-200mm lens? as 2 lenses in 1 lens?
Those are known as "superzoom" lenses - they cover a wide range of focal lengths. The best ones are probably the Pentax and Tamron 18-250. What will you be shooting? For wildlife you'll probably want 300mm. There are some decent, inexpensive 70-300 zooms from Sigma & Tamron. Some have better IQ than others. A good match for your kit lens would be the DA or DA-L 55-300. Probably the best of the long 'consumer' zooms.

02-08-2012, 03:04 PM   #5