Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
02-24-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K-5 vs D7000 again

I know, I know this has been asked like a million times before. But I think I know what the advantages and disadvantages the two bodies have.

But my real question is gonna be on the lenses. What nikon offers are what I think cheap "Fast " AF prime lenses like the 85mm 1.8, 50mm 1.8/1.4, 35mm 1.8, 28mm 2.8 or 20mm 2.8. while pentax doesn't really have any equivalent to an 85 1.8 the closest would be the FA77 limited which is super expensive. or the DA70 which is not fast enough. same for the cheap nikon 35 1.8 vs the cheap DA 35 2.4, I know pentax has an awesome limited line-up but they're not really budget friendly if you ask a hobbyist like me. I won't even consider myself as a photographer, I'm just a guy who likes taking pictures.

Now the question is this if you haven't invested that much on a brand, which one would you consider getting if you want to have a decent "AF prime lens" line-up and why?

02-24-2012, 11:47 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nikon's got a lot of cheap lenses, but they aren't stabilized, whereas Pentax ones are thanks to the in-body SR So that's definitely a big consideration. Plus, Pentax has the 50mm F1.8 on the way, which will likely be priced at under $200.

The 85mm is a gap in Pentax's current lineup that I hope they address. However, if you're willing to settle for manual focus, this is an excellent option for just $299 (plus it's F1.4!):
Vivitar (Samyang) 85mm F1.4 - Review - PentaxForums.com
Bower 85mm f/1.4 Manual Focus Telephoto Lens for Pentax SLY85P

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)