Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
Junior Member




Join Date: Feb 2012
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 34
Aperture issue with SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm F4.5-5.6

Hello,

I bought a SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm F4.5-5.6 for a bargain price. However I can not set the aperture in any mode. I usually shoot in Av mode but it is impossible to set the aperture manually. The aperture ring on the lens is set to "A".

This is what I get on my top display.

Is this normal or is the lens defective ?

Thanks

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 

Last edited by BNBPhoto; 04-23-2012 at 09:28 AM.
03-10-2012, 07:04 PM   #2
Site Supporter
boriscleto's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Liverpool, NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 12,863
Have you tried cleaning the contacts on the lens?
03-10-2012, 07:14 PM   #3
Junior Member




Join Date: Feb 2012
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 34
Original Poster
I did and it did not work
03-15-2012, 12:52 PM   #4
New Member




Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
It's a normal fault, the internal circuit fails.
Mine was the second that I had seen, Having enquired prior to the purchase of the repair cost, I got the price down to a good deal and went for it.
Put it directly into the repair house and collected 3 days later for about 30-35, 5 years ago (if I remember correctly) still behaving perfectly. Asahiphoto of Brentford West London carried out the work and quoted that this is common for this lens.

Hope this helps

Alan

04-23-2012, 08:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
Iksobarg's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 208
had to check the one I just got in the mail today!

seriously? "defectious?"

Anyway, I found mine works, but for how long?

So I kinda don't get it for the one that doesn't work...
that means the camera is not able to auto control the Fstops?
and/or in manual Fmode the camera doesn't register the manually set Fstop?

Last edited by Iksobarg; 04-23-2012 at 08:47 AM. Reason: grammar
04-23-2012, 08:49 AM   #6
Site Supporter
LaurenOE's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Photos: Albums
Posts: 3,487
I've got that lens too, and I have taken it apart to fix the middle element as that comes unglued - at least in mine. It's a great lens and is one of the easier ones I have worked on. It's good to know that there is an electrical issue cause, if my copy begins to fail in setting the f-stop.

Even with my repairs, I don't use it much. I have one of the gray ones. It seems the silver ones outnumber the gray ones by a wide margin.
04-23-2012, 09:01 AM   #7
Pentaxian
unixrevolution's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waldorf, MD
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,858
QuoteOriginally posted by Iksobarg Quote
seriously? "defectious?"

Not all of our users here speak English as a first language.

QuoteOriginally posted by Iksobarg Quote
Anyway, I found mine works, but for how long?

So I kinda don't get it for the one that doesn't work...
that means the camera is not able to auto control the Fstops?
and/or in manual Fmode the camera doesn't register the manually set Fstop?
I believe he has it set in A, where a Pentax DSLR should set the aperture automatically, and it will not.
04-23-2012, 09:21 AM   #8
Junior Member




Join Date: Feb 2012
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 34
Original Poster
I did set the camera in Av (Aperture Priority) and I put the lens aperture ring on "A". The camera would not let me select the aperture value as illustrated in the picture above.


Last edited by BNBPhoto; 04-23-2012 at 09:27 AM.
04-25-2012, 01:45 AM   #9
Pentaxian




Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago suburb, IL, USA
Posts: 1,535
Hi BNBPhoto,

I would think that there are probably electrical contacts in the aperture ring mechanism, and like any contacts, they can become oxidized or corroded when not used for a length of time, or there might be some debris causing a loss of contact. I'd suggest that you depress the A lock button on the aperture ring and rotate the ring back and forth a good number of times to see if this might provide a better chance of a good contact.

Scott
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
aperture, aperture issue, f4.5-5.6, lens, mode, pentax help, pentax-fa, smc, smc pentax-fa 80-320mm
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pentax SMC FA 80-320mm or Tamron 70-300mm Macro Travis Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 02-01-2011 08:50 AM
For Sale - Sold: SMC-FA 80-320mm w/filter and more (US) NicK10D Sold Items 5 07-10-2010 08:15 AM
SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm lens Green_Manelishi Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 7 06-05-2009 08:47 AM
For Sale - Sold: Pentax SMC FA 80-320mm xs400 Sold Items 6 05-10-2009 05:26 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top