Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2012, 01:32 AM   #1

Focal length and sensor sizes.

Hi,

I am a newbie in the field of DSLRs but have many happy years of Pentax film cameras behind me, so I am well aware of the basics. However there is one point I would like to get clearer in my head.

Back in the 35mm film days a “normal” focal length lens was 50mm – “normal” meaning that it gave the same perspective as the human eye (if I have understood that correctly). So a lens shorter than 50mm is considered to be wide angle, and one longer than 50mm, telephoto.

If I now take a 50mm lens from my old 35mm camera and put it on my K-x it behaves like a 75mm lens would have done on my 35mm film camera.

First question – is this because the sensor on my K-x is smaller than 35mm film?

Second question - this would suggest that a “normal” DA type lens for my K-x is still 50mm. Is this the case?

Final question – does this mean that 50mm is “normal” for all DSLRs (Pentax, Nikon, Canon etc.) as it was for all 35mm film cameras?

Thanks to anyone who can help put me out of my misery.

Last edited by Farmer_Terry; 03-11-2012 at 01:35 AM. Reason: clarification of question.
03-11-2012, 01:44 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
1. Yes, it's a 24x16 sensor (about half the size)
2. No. A normal lens would be a 50mm / 1.5, so about a 35mm
3. FOV varies by sensor size as in this chart: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/93714-field-view-tab...d-645-6x7.html

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/90477-crop-factor-fo...ield-view.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)