Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2012, 08:46 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-x USB cord

My original cord that connects my camera to my computer is no longer functioning. Does anyone know which model # this is or where I can get one that will work with it? Thanks.

03-15-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
No, but I - like most - would say skip the cord and simply use a card reader. Easier and safer.
03-15-2012, 09:08 AM   #3
Site Supporter

An alternative would be to buy a card reader. I use this with my K-x, instead of the cord, as the cord plugged into the computer for any length of time, drains the batteries.

I bought mine from Target, and have found them at Wal-Mart. They're fairly cheap, and mine cost me under $10. They are Targus brand, I've been using the one from Wal-Mart for two years without problems.

Last edited by photolady95; 03-15-2012 at 09:15 AM.
03-15-2012, 09:13 AM   #4
Pentaxian

It seems all USB cables delivered with Pentax cameras are exchangable. At least I used the same cables for Optio S5i, Optio A10, Optio A40, and K200D. Cables from other brands and from electronic stores for general purpose sometimes work, mostly they don't.

Keep in mind it's a "micro USB", not "Mini USB". As far as I know, Pentax uses lines not covered by the micro USB standard (like most of the competion, too.). Whether the missing lines of a standard cable will affect plain file copying, or only more sophisticated doings like tethering, only testing will show.

Last edited by RKKS08; 03-15-2012 at 09:21 AM.
03-15-2012, 09:37 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ginglesair Quote
My original cord that connects my camera to my computer is no longer functioning. Does anyone know which model # this is or where I can get one that will work with it? Thanks.
According to the box where my K-x came from, it's "I-USB7".