Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2012, 02:00 PM   #1

Relationship between aperture and zoom

Although I am relatively new to digital photography, I do understand all the basic principles and am trying to become as proficient as possible, at least from a hobby standpoint.

When experimenting with indoor shooting in Av mode using the 18-55mm kit lens that came with my K-x, I notice that if I shoot wide angle at 18mm I can adjust the aperture setting anywhere from f5.6 up to f40. However, if I zoom in to 55mm, my aperture range tops out at f22. So, my technical question of the day is this: Scientifically speaking, why does a change in focal length have an affect on minimum aperture?

Can someone more intelligent than me explain the relationship between aperture and focal length (BTW, I only have a BA degree so keep it simple). I should know the answer to this, but I can't wrap my brain around it for some reason. Thanks.

03-19-2012, 02:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Are you sure that the numbers are not the other way around?

At 18mm it ranges from F3.5 to F22, at 55mm from F5.6 to F40. Essentially 1.5 stops are lost on both ends when it is zoomed to 55mm. The kit lens is designed as a variable aperture lens which is cheaper to make. That's why it is labeled as "SMC PENTAX - DA 1:3.5 - 5.6 18-55mm". The first number (3.5) applies to the 18mm end and the second (5.6) to the 55mm end. The minimum aperture (large number) is equally skewed in this design to F22 at 18mm and F40 at 55mm. There are other designs for zoom lenses that keep the aperture fixed regardless of the focal length in the zoom range.