Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2012, 09:41 AM   #1

chose between 2 lenses

Can anyone please advise me on choosing between 2 lenses? I am a beginner and just bought a Pentax K-X at Christmas. It came with the kit lens of 18-55mm. I would like to have a longer zoom lens. I have been checking around and I believe I have finally landed between 2 lenses that fit in my price range. I can buy either a Tokina AF 70-210 1:4-5.6 or Pentax 50-200 F 4-5.6 ED. I enjoy photos that have a decent depth of field aspect to them (with the blurred background). So, can you please advise on which lens would be better for me? Thanks so much!!

03-22-2012, 09:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Neither of those is fast enough to have thin DOF for the blurry backgrounds you want unless you shoot fairly close. Something like a Sigma or Tamron 70-200/2.8 would do much better -- but probably beyond your budget. I don't know if you're brave enough for manual-focus; if so, a used Vivitar Series-1 70-210/3.5 would be excellent and well within budget, if a bit long and heavy. There are tradeoffs here: new-long-sharp-fast-cheap are mutually exclusive. Ratz...

Last edited by RioRico; 03-22-2012 at 10:05 AM.
03-22-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Whilst I can't advise you on comparisons between those two lenses I can say that low DoF is a product of fast lenses (wider apertures than those you are considering, e.g. f2.8 and faster) and perspective. I don't think either of those two lenses will do it for you.

It's possible the Tokina (who at one time were co-operating and producing lenses alongside Pentax, and so have many of the same lenses in their line-up as Pentax) AF 70-210 is optically the same as the Pentax F 70-210, a lens which I have. It is a little dated now but I can assure you it is very sharp and has fast (if noisy) AF and should cost you around $100 used. In fact there may even be one up for sale here on PF at the moment.