Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2012, 07:03 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Question about film versus digital sharpness

Ok, although not a beginner here's my comments and question.

I don't know why I was thinking this today but I was. Maybe the answer is obvious, but not to me.

When shooting film, I found the negatives and the prints generated from them to be generally very sharp when returned from the lab. Assuming of course I got the focus right.

This applies even going back to the eighties with my Chinon CE-4 and 50mm lens.

On my K-5 I find that the photos are softish unless I add sharpening (Lightroom 3). This applies with Raw and Jpeg. The Point & Shoot cameras seem biased to adding a lot of sharpness.

Therefore, unless sharpening is added in the camera or in the computer is the digital sensor LESS sharp than the image recorded on a piece of film?

Both have 'grain', either silver halide crystals or pixels.

Comments, answers anyone?

03-27-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I don't have any specialized knowledge on this, but as with a bayer sensor every "pixel" is an interpolation of 4 physical pixels, of which each is also used to interpolate the neighbouring "pixels", this makes for a built-in smoothing by concept. In fact this means, without processing you never see sharp contrast edges.

I understand that, with film, a kind of "chemical interpolation" is working, but the results are not the same.
03-27-2012, 08:28 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

It's my (possibly incorrect) understanding that with decent film (ISO<400 or so), the image resolution is limited by the optics - that is, the film records what is imaged on it with contributing measurably to the deterioration of resolution. (Assuming the film is correctly processed.) A digital sensor, even the highest-resolution commercial sensor, is not a match for that. Yet.