Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2012, 10:41 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
SIGMA Zoom Master 70mm Multi-Coated 1:2.8-4 Lens - HELP!!

Hi all,

I am a total beginner in the DSLR arena and purchased my very first one, the K-5, a couple of weeks ago with the kit lens.
Wanting to expand my lens options ( as if I know what I'm doing ) I bought a vintage Sigma Zoom Master 35-70mm multi-coated 1:2.8-4 Macro lens.

Guess what? It doesn't fit my camera!! It seems as though the two tabs on the back of the lens are longer than the ones on the kit lens. The lens will not screw on and I have no idea what to do.

Please help.

03-29-2012, 12:12 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Was it advertised as a Pentax K- mount lens when you bought it??? Each camera brand has it's own mount/s.
03-29-2012, 03:36 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Calsan,

The auction stated that it would work with Pentax cameras. It did not specifically state that this had a K mount - actually, there was no specification as to what mount it was. I searched the forums and found a review on it here Sigma Zoom-Master 35-70mm, f2.8-4.0, Macro Lens Reviews - Sigma Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database, which is why I purchased it and figured it would work on my camera as well. This is the exact lens that I just purchased....
03-29-2012, 05:35 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, first be aware that Sigma is a third party lens manufacturer so they make lenses that fit many different cameras. Your lens should specifically state what mount it is for although it might be a little tricky to figure out their codes. Pentax mount lens should usually have "Pentax P/K", "P/K", "PK", "R/K" or something vaguely similar on it somewhere.