Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2012, 10:12 AM   #1

What is this switch(?) thing?

Sorry I'm a noob, just wondering what that thing I circled is, I noticed only Film cameras (and the Leicas) Have it.

Attached Images

03-30-2012, 10:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I know that the thing on my Super ME is the timed shutter. Cocking it fully gives me 10 seconds to run in front of the camera, and cocking partly gives me 2 seconds.
03-30-2012, 10:23 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by JinDesu Quote
I know that the thing on my Super ME is the timed shutter. Cocking it fully gives me 10 seconds to run in front of the camera, and cocking partly gives me 2 seconds.
Cool never would have guessed that. Thanks for the reply!
03-30-2012, 10:52 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
WOW! THis took some research, but this is the explanation from the M9 operator's manual:

IMAge FIeLD SeLeCTOR
The image field selector (1.8) expands the possibilities
of the Leica M9 viewfinder. This built in universal
viewfinder allows you to activate bright-lines at any
time, which do not belong to the lens currently being
used. You can then see immediately if, for composition
reasons, it would be better to photograph the
relevant subject using a different focal length.
Moving the lever outwards, i.e. away from the lens,
shows the image field limits for 35 and 135mm focal
lengths. Moving the lever to its vertical central position displays
the image field limits for 50 and 75mm focal lengths.
Moving the lever inwards, i.e. towards the lens, shows
the image field limits for 28 and 90mm focal lengths.

See the link:

http://us.leica-camera.com/assets/file/file_5723.pdf

Page 132 & 133

OK Pentax, let's see this in the next K3 or K1!

Regards,

03-30-2012, 10:54 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter