Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2012, 05:35 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Macro lens?

I have a Tamron Adaptall-2 28-50mm f/3.5-4.5 lens which says macro on it, is it a true macro lens and has anyone got any experience and tips of this lens . (I am new to macro so please forgive me)

04-11-2012, 05:52 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by fourfivesix Quote
I have a Tamron Adaptall-2 28-50mm f/3.5-4.5 lens which says macro on it, is it a true macro lens and has anyone got any experience and tips of this lens . (I am new to macro so please forgive me)
I clicked the link in your post. It says Magnification Ratio 1:4 (at 50mm). Macro is generally 1:2 or greater. Also, I don't know of any zoom lens with real macro capability. But your lens is close focusing, which is useful.
04-11-2012, 07:50 AM   #3
Site Supporter

As noted Macro is usually considered to be 1:2 or greater. Some folks insist on 1:1. Many zooms add the word macro on the lens because the manufacturer thought it would sell better. And they were probably right. 1:4 is not true macro but is a very nice 'close focusing' ratio. Assuming the lens is sharp enough you should get good images from it, just not true 'macro'. For pictures of flowers and other moderate sized things 1:4 works just fine. For small insects or other really small things you will not be able to fill the frame.
04-11-2012, 08:46 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks what would happen if I added a 2x converter?

04-11-2012, 09:03 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Lensmakers label their glass MACRO because it's sexier and uses less ink than CLOSE-FOCUS. I know of exactly one 'real' macro-zoom, the massive Schneider Betavaron 50-125 enlarger zoom. All others are just close-focus.

Thanks what would happen if I added a 2x converter?