Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-16-2012, 08:36 AM   #1

Focusing with the DA*200 f2.8

Hi all

Recently, and most probably due to the LBA I got one...
I am quite new at it and have a question to those who owns one.

I found that the lens, sometimes, has difficulty to focus where I want. This mainly in the 5 points mode. If I choose the spot on option it's fine so far.
Example if I shoot a bird on a tree that is beyond various branches sometimes in the 5 points mode the focus isn't quite right.
Often, the red dot (which I trust shows the exact focus point) is on the right or the left side, also sometime up, sometime down but never or not too often spot on.
Sometimes/rarely, it's all blurred. I haven't had that with any of my signature lenses

Is this a normal behaviour ?

Many thanks for you're help

04-16-2012, 08:53 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Yes, that is a problem with any and every lens/camera combo, since the camera sometimes thinks you want to focus on the branches. You selected one of the most difficult scenarios. Use spot mode.

Last edited by Giklab; 04-16-2012 at 12:42 PM.
04-16-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Plus 1

and also fine tune manually ( the DA*200 supports quick shift focus)
04-16-2012, 09:55 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Also be aware that the red AF focus points are a lot smaller then the area covered by the AF sensors. For instance, the center AF is a cross-type sensor with the + almost the same height/width as the Spot Meter circle. The other + sensors are similiarly sized.

Trying to pick and choose edges to focus on that overlap objects at different distances can get quite annoying...even without the camera trying to decide by choosing between numerous focus areas. As mentioned it is often easier to pick one sensor and compose around it.

04-16-2012, 11:47 PM   #5

Original Poster
So apparently its normal.