Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2012, 03:21 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Off-camera flash not firing

So I've never worked with an off-camera flash before -- this is an exciting time. I just received my Vivitar 285HV and have it plugged into my camera by a PC cable. I've tried everything I can think of go get the flash to fire with the shutter but can't get it to go off. It'll work on the camera perfectly but not off. I've tried with the built-in flash up and down and in every flash setting I can find with no luck. Yes, the flash is on and charged.

I've included a pic so you can see what I'm working with in the hopes that might help. Any advice is appreciated.

04-19-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
make sure your shutter speed is 1/180 or longer.
04-19-2012, 03:29 PM   #3

Original Poster
Done did that. Ambient light reading was for a 1" shutter speed.
04-19-2012, 03:40 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Short the pins on the camera end of the cable. i.e. make sure the cable and the hot-shoe adapter are functional.
If shorting the cable makes the flash fire, then the camera may be FUBAR. I'd be more apt to guess the adapter or cable is the problem.
I have half a dozen hot-shoe adapters with pass-through PC connectors, but only one connector works on each.

04-19-2012, 03:46 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the help! How do I do that?
04-19-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pull out the cable from the camera. Leave it plugged into the flash, on, in manual mode.
Use a paper clip to connect the center post to the outside metal of the plug you pulled out from the camera.
If it fires then your cable is good, bad news is the camera PC port may be busted.
If it doesn't fire, then yay! - get a new cable.

Or you may try cheap a wireless flash trigger instead.
04-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #7

Original Poster
It didn't fire! Which seems like good news in this case.