Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2012, 10:21 AM   #1

K5 - Image taking to long to process.

I have the K5 and I really like this camera (I'm a portrait photographer). When I'm in a session photographing my subject I like to see the photo right away, the camera take along time to process the image, it always shows up......... but it takes way to long to see the photo in the view finder. I also have the K10 and I've never had an issue with this, the image always showed up immediately. Has anyone else had this problem? and how can I fix it.

04-20-2012, 10:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I know when I did long exposures the noise reduction software took forever.....maybe you have the noise reduction setting too high for lower ISO's
04-20-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
what SD card are you using? it may be a bit too slow

otherwise it could be any number of in camera settings causing extra processing time
04-20-2012, 10:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Generally this is because of the shadow/highlight correction and the distortion/CA processing that the camera does, you can turn all those off though. Turning off NR will speed things up massively too.

I can view my images a second or so after they're taken. Whether that's fast enough I dunno, but it suits me.

04-20-2012, 10:35 AM   #5
Banned

Photos: Albums
Could it be due to settings; or the camera waiting to write to the card?

First the resoultion settings; for the K-5 would it be RAW+jpeg? Next, the exposure setting; what was the ballpark shutter speed? Was it a longer exposure?

I've never heard of this one in the Pentax line, but with other camera models... That looking for space on a memory card can actually cause a delay of the image appearing on the screen. Think of this as needing a defrag on a memory card. Sounds strange, but it happens
04-20-2012, 10:37 AM   #6
Veteran Member