Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-30-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
K5 settings when shooting RAW

As an absolute newbie, I've been doing some reading on here and just wanted to double check my understanding. None of the K5's in-camera settings (other than the aperture, ISO and speed) apply when shooting raw, correct? If incorrect, I need to take a break and read some more.

04-30-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Well, other things *apply*, but can be changed later, which I think is what you mean. Like white balance: you can get it right later, but it is a pain if you're not in the ballpark in the first place.

As far as other settings, noise reduction (under ISO 1600) does apply, possibly? (I always have it turned off, can't remember.) And possibly shadow and highlight correction have a permanent effect? Or no?
04-30-2012, 09:41 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens and shadow/highlight corrections still apply if enabled, I believe.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-01-2012, 12:58 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Yippeee! I hoped for this so much! Especially with the 18-135

05-01-2012, 01:10 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Euuhhhh....
Are you sure about that?
I'm going to have to say: I think not

EDIT: nevermind, I just found out that highlight corrections are carried over(in META) and supported by DCU.

Last edited by JohnBee; 05-01-2012 at 03:39 AM.
05-01-2012, 01:12 AM   #6
Veteran Member