Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2012, 11:38 AM   #1

Buying a K-5, need guidance on choosing a lens

Hello everyone,

I am an amateur. I finally decided to go with the K-5. My first DSLR was a Canon 350D with a kit lens which was later replaced by a 50D.
I had 2 lenses for the 50D, a telephoto lens 70-200 and a 35mm lens. Both were great and they served their purpose. I travelled regularly
and the places I visited along with my 50D inspired me to take some good pictures.

Now I have a little daughter and obviously my lifestyle has changed. I decided that I did not need a DSLR any more and I swapped it for a
Fuji X100. I found it great for everyday photography but not so great for taking pictures of my baby. Obviously the autofocus is painfully slow
and many picture opportunities ended up wasted. My X100 went berserk with the blades issue a week ago and it's in for repairs now.
I still like this camera but having found myself with nothing but an iPhone at the moment I started thinking about replacing the X100 with something
more versatile.

I tortured myself with Nikon D8000, Canon 60D, Sony NEX-7, Olympus OM-D M5, hell even Pentax K-01 and finally I decided to keep the X100
and buy a Pentax K-5. Now what about lenses?

I am considering buying a K-5 body and one limited lens for starters. I decided to pass on the kits since I'm not into zooms really and I feel much
more at home with prime lenses. I need something sharp and fast for taking pictures of the baby indoors, sometimes in low light, and also during
the walks in the park outside.

I have 3 lenses on my radar:

- 35mm f/2.8 Macro ltd (my wife loves macro, she photographs her perfume bottles for perfume enthusiast forums
- 40mm f/2.4 2.8 ltd
- 70mm f/2.4 ltd

And I can't decide! I would appreciate any advice from you guys.

Last edited by Pelicashka; 05-11-2012 at 12:03 PM.
05-11-2012, 11:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster