Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2012, 03:09 PM   #1

I think I need the 17-70mm lens

Pretty much a n00b around here and I have a question. I have the k7 with the DA 35 f 2.4 lens and the VIvitar Series 1 70-210mm. I'm still learning how to use those but obviously I need to add some more lenses to my kit. For starters I want to add a pretty good lens and go from there in the near future. Here's what I My interests are:

I like macro ie. flowers, insects, and telephoto ie. birds, animals, nature
Going to parks with the 3 and 8 yr old boys and out around town
Soccer/sports with the kids
I take a lot of pics of the kids inside and outside and often take the camera wherever I go.
Will be travelling to Wash. DC for a vacation soon-need walkaround lens
Start dabbling with portrait work.

Hence, I want something that's pretty fast to capture that spur of the moment shot and I want very good IQ. That's important for the most part.
it seems to me the 17-70mm would be a good start and I would add like a 70-300mm down the road. Is the 18-250mm a better way to go? Is there something else I should consider?
Thanks,
Bill

05-11-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
looks like you are interested in many area of photography. that is good.
but If you want to take photo of everything with one lens, only superzoom can do it.

Last edited by liukaitc; 05-11-2012 at 04:05 PM.
05-11-2012, 03:58 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The Sigma 17-70 does a respectable job is 2.8 at the wide angle and i am continually surprised at its capacity to take macro. I have had mine since the first batch about 6 years ago. Other than my K5 shots with this lens I would call ordinary.

I think the pentax F4 17-70 is a brilliant lens. I have only used it and was extremely impressed. If you intend to upgrade to the K5 or K3? at some stage and want a great zoom I would recommend it.