Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2012, 03:46 AM   #1
Forum Member

Post Processing

Hello Folks,

Yesterday I downloaded GIMP from GNU. There is no documentation other than the online help. I've never done any sort of post processing before, and really don't know what to do.

What are two or three things I should learn to do, and how do I do them? If I can get started, I'll pick it up.

Thanks, Tom

05-18-2012, 04:06 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Let me google that for you

05-18-2012, 04:18 AM   #3

Photos: Albums
There are books available too if you prefer:

GIMP - Books about GIMP

Another option is to search on "Gimp tutorial" or "Gimp tips" on Youtube
05-18-2012, 05:09 AM   #4
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Tatume Quote
Hello Folks,

Yesterday I downloaded GIMP from GNU. There is no documentation other than the online help. I've never done any sort of post processing before, and really don't know what to do.

What are two or three things I should learn to do, and how do I do them? If I can get started, I'll pick it up.

Thanks, Tom
Oh I just realised you are new to post processing all together.
I am not sure of its full compatibility with PEF/DNG files but you get a bit of extra head room with these formats over JPG (IE white balance is better, more detail can be recovered from shadows and highlights)
Some of the basic things you will want to learn how to do. (methods can be found in google as I don't use gimp)
  • White Balance (this corrects for different types of lighting)
  • Tone
    • Exposure
    • Recovery (for detail in bright sections of photo)
    • Fill light (for lighter shadows)
    • Blacks (for the darkest parts of the photo)
  • Brightness
  • Contrast
  • Clarity
  • Vibrancy
  • Saturation
  • Sharpening
  • Noise reduction

05-18-2012, 06:02 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

There are Gimp video tutorials also...

05-18-2012, 07:54 AM   #6
hcc
Pentaxian