Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-26-2012, 07:15 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Aperture Question

I am a rank amateur and I have what may appear to be a dumb question. The answer though will help me determine the answers to a few other questions...

On my soon to be delivered K-5 one of the lenses has a F3.5-5.6...

My question is generally about photography fundamentals more than any specific lens...

I have seen some lenses that have apertures from 1.4....some with 1.7...some with 2.4 and so on and so forth...assuming focal length is standard really what would be the 'big difference' between a 1.4 and 1.7 and 2.4 or so on and so forth?

What can you do with a 1.4 that you can't do with a 1.7 or 2.4 or whatever...

In other words I don't have that aperture range covered (yet) so I would like to know or have a little discussion about it...

05-26-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
This is a good start...

Aperture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Understand what is Aperture in photographic basic
05-26-2012, 08:22 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Larger aperture= smaller depth of field, allows more light to enter the lens, which makes it a faster lens.

You may want to pick up an old film-era photography book from your library or a thrift shop to understand aperture. The older the book, the better.
05-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Boris... thanks... that second link was a little more what I was after...

Really though what I would like to see is some pictures side by side showing the differences between 1.2 1.4 1.7 and so forth so I can get a visual feel of things...

Right now 3.5 is the smallest (or biggest) I got...and I am wanting possibly to expand out and get another lens (or two) because it will give me more leeway on the bokeh side of things...The question is more along the lines of 'the devil is in the details'...