Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-26-2012, 08:20 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Issues with Reversing Lens for Macro

I was watching someone reverse their lens for a macro shot. Now, most lenses have a good coating on the normal end, but what coating or protection exists for the glass on end that inserts into the body? Eg. Is lens reversal a poor idea?

Thanks

05-26-2012, 08:30 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm no expert in optics or macro photography, but I've done a bit. Lens reversal allows closer focusing, kind of a poor man's macro. And the film side of the optic is designed for a flatter field than the subject side of non-macro lens. Yes, it puts the antiglare coating on the wrong side, but in macro work, you're not likely to have a strong light source in frame with the subject.
So - no, it's not generally a poor idea for its purpose - inexpensive (relatively) macro photography.
05-26-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I was not aware that coating is universally different on the front vs. the rear element. Of my SMC Takumars, at least in appearance, only the 35/3.5 appeared to have a visibly different coating on the front and rear element. But I'm only judging by appearance, which could be misleading.

Are you talking about anti-reflection coating, or some sort of physical damage protection? Some of the newer lenses have a harder coating on at least some of the elements; I'm not sure if that's different on different elements.

Paul
05-26-2012, 09:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I can think of three types of lens reversal:

1) Reversing an enlarging lens: This swaps subject and image fields without changing focal length or working distance. The image field is usually flatter than the subject field, and we seem to get sharper results with such reversal.