Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2012, 01:24 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
the Bad-copy paranoia, Tammy 28-75 tests

Hello everyone!

I recently bought a Tamron 28-75, after having seen all the good reviews on this forum and all. I'm a beginner and actually have no idea what kind of sharpness I should expect from such a lens. PLUS, there is always the "bad copy" problems, where some people complain about their copy not being sharp enough or having a bad AF etc... so I'm getting paranoid as well. I'd say I'm glad to have this lens, but still the question remains, do I have a good "copy" of it ?

The AF seems fine enough, sometimes backfocuses a bit, but it may be just me not yet being used to the K7 AF (so far I have been shooting mostly with the 10-17 and 50 f1.7 M).

So I went for a walk and took a few pictures, a lot of them with the aperture open wide, which I think gives a nice bokeh. Here is the Flickr album, all the exif are copied from Lightroom. All taken with a K7, with 3-star Jpg straight from the camera :

Tamron 28-75 test - a set on Flickr

My question would be : how does it compare with your copy of the lens ? What kind of test could be more revealing ?

PS: Sorry moderator, this is not really a "troubleshooting problem", maybe should be in the beginner's corner?

05-29-2012, 02:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice set, I personally don't have this lens but I think photos like these aren't a good "test".

I believe K-7 has the AF adjustment feature which allows you to fix a back/front-focusing lens so you can get the sharpest AF. Here's a link to the review of how to do it ---> Fixing Front and Back Focus - Introduction - PentaxForums.com
I've adjusted my DA* 55, DA* 50-135, and Sigma 105 Macro in this manner (using a yardstick standing straight up against the wall with camera on tripod) and now they are almost always spot-on with AF.
05-29-2012, 02:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member