Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2012, 10:51 PM   #1

Need guidance

Hi guys.

I recently received an old pentax P30T with a pentax-A Zoom 28~80mm lens.
Im not heavy into photography. I own a sony cybershot point and shoot camera that produces a neat photograph for its size. Looking to pick up a DSLR.
I'm a beginner in every sense of the word in photography
What would be a good pentax DSLR with this lens?(Dont see the need to pick up a new lens just yet)
All and any suggestions are welcome

06-01-2012, 11:24 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Get a used K-x, or K-r. Good buys for the price.
06-01-2012, 11:33 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome aboard! What camera to buy depends a bit on your budget. Tell us how much money you have, and we'll spend it for you! If your budget is fairly low, a Kr or older Kx is a good starting point. If you have a well-paying job, a K5 or new K30 may be just right. Here is a page for comparing features of Pentax dSLRs: Pentax Cameras | Pentax K-30 vs. Pentax K-r vs. Pentax K-x - Pentax DSLR Comparison

I'll suggest that your A28-80 isn't the best lens for starting with dSLR photography. Newer lenses support both autofocus (AF) and shake reduction (SR), both of which help shooting in less-than-bright light. A Kr or other camera will usually have an AF kit lens included, usually the useful DA18-55.