Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2012, 11:07 PM   #1
Forum Member

Sensor dust

I love the Pentax K10D but keep having a repeating problem - dust on the sensor. I do not change lenses very often and mainly the kit lens is the one in use. At least twice a month I have to clean it with a Pocket Rocket dust blower. Usually this helps. I have some years experience with Olympus DSLR cameras and I have to admit that I never had ANY dust problem. I would like to hear from your experience about this and what should I do if the dust cannot be removed with a dust blower?

06-09-2012, 12:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If a blower won't remove it, either deal with it in post-processing, send it to be cleaned, or clean it yourself(Wet method)

In regards to what might be causing it, sometimes the kit lens will sort of vacuum dust into the sensor area when it zooms.(I know it blows like a hurricane on my 18-135 with my K-5 when I have the Mic port open or the SD card slot open)
06-09-2012, 01:55 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I use the butterfly from visibledust, works well and simple
06-09-2012, 04:43 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I tell my K20D to dust-shake the sensor at every power-up -- and I power-up with almost every lens change. I blow a little canned air into the body after every few lens changes. I use the O-ICK1 Official Pentax Sensor Cleaning Kit about once a month. And even though I'm usually in high dry climes, I still find crud. Such is life.

06-09-2012, 05:25 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter

Use a new sensor for every shot! Never had a problem with my MX.
06-09-2012, 05:44 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Sadly, the dust-shaker in the K10D isn't something to write home about. It was much more a gimmick and a bullet-point for the sales brochure than a actual functional piece of equipment. It did not reduce the amount of sensor cleaning at all.