Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-09-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Selecting focussing area-Centre v Auto

This is not just a Pentax beginners question but a complete beginners question. Could someone help me understand please what the difference is between Centre and Auto focusing . Why can't I simply use Centre every time to focus on the object I'm shooting? Am I not in a better position than my camera to know what I want to focus on? Thanks

06-09-2012, 04:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

The auto focus point feature can work quite well, but most of the time I do as you do and use the center point and recompose. In my experience, the auto focus point system sometimes locks on the wrong thing. So I tend to leave the camera in center point AF mode.
06-09-2012, 05:08 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by TylerD Quote
can't I simply use Centre every time to focus on the object I'm shooting?
Yes you can. And lots of people, myself included, do. I think the multi-point focus is OK if you are taking a picture of a forest and do not really care which tree is in focus. I prefer to know which tree I am shooting at.

Which leads to another question, I always see everyone bragging/commenting on how other systems have more or better AF points. But I just do not understand all the excitement, Pentax has (11 points??) but I only use one of them so Pentax already has 10 times the AF points I would ever use.

Maybe I am totally missing something or misunderstanding the whole AF thing and I look forward to someone more knowledgeable than me providing a good explanation.
06-09-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Pentaxian

I choose the focus point for each shot, as it eliminates focus errors caused by focus and recomposing. But other than that the other focus points are very useful for tracking movement.

But for still shots with longer lenses? One AF point would do you just fine.